Hammond Castle Museum was the home and laboratory of John Hays Hammond Jr. and now serves as a museum, cultural arts center and venue welcoming guests daily throughout the season.
Hammond is known as “The Father of Radio Control,” and was one of America’s most prolific inventors of his time. Built from 1926 through 1929, and incorporated as a museum in 1930, the castle’s architectural style is a mix of a medieval castle, medieval French village, and a Gothic cathedral. It was custom built to encompass Hammond’s private residence, laboratory, and museum quality collection of architectural elements from his travels throughout Europe. Also on display is Hammond’s extensive list of patents, his work with radio control and his work on guided torpedoes for the military.
Visitors to the Museum can explore many of the rooms, including the Great Hall, indoor courtyard, inventions exhibit room, library, War Room, and much more. Visitors may also enjoy the beauty of the castle grounds and rocky Atlantic coast.
The Museum offers guided and self-guided tours and numerous educational and cultural events throughout the season. Candlelight Tours and Spiritualism Tours are offered on Thursday evenings in August, September, October and Candlelight Tours are offered throughout December. Check the website for the current schedule of events. Annual memberships are available. The Museum is also available for private and corporate rentals year-round. Parking is always free.
Hammond Castle Museum is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. At nearly a century old, Hammond Castle Museum is not handicapped accessible. Advanced ticket reservations are encouraged. Reserve your tickets at www.hammondcastle.org.
Tours: 10:00am – 3:00pm. The Museum Shop and Museum close at 4:00pm.
Nov.1st to Dec.11th
Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays: Guided and Self-Guided Tours
December 12th to 30th
Mondays -Thursdays: Self-Guided Tours
Fridays, Saturdays, & Sundays: Guided & Self-Guided Tours
In November and December the museum is open on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from 10:00am to 4:00pm.
Drawbridge photo credit: Travel Like A Local MA